How to reach Valley of Flowers National Park Uttarakhand

How to reach valley of flowers from Haridwar and New Delhi.

Valley of flowers is 500 kilometers from New Delhi and 300 kilometers from Haridwar. The answer to question of How o Reach Valley of flowers can be divided in following parts.

  1. Reaching Haridwar
  2. Haridwar to Govindghat. (Road Journey)
  3. Govindghat to Valley of flowers (Trek)

Reaching Haridwar for a trip to valley of flowers

You can reach Haridwar by train, bus or air. The nearest airport is Jolly Grant at Dehradun. It is only about an hour’s drive from airport to Haridwar. Haridwar has its railway station so you can reach here from all over India by train as well. Regular bus service from New Delhi is also available for Haridwar. New Delhi to Haridwar is only 200 km but it takes almost 5 hours.

Haridwar to Govindghat.

From Haridwar, Govindghat is approximately 275 kilometers and it is accessible only by road. It takes almost 10-12 hours to reach Govindghat from Haridwar. So you should start early from Haridwar so as to reach Govindghat by evening. You can also opt to stay at Joshimath as most of the hotels at Govindghat are washed off in the floods in Uttarakhand in 2013. Joshimath is just 25 kilometers before Govindghat on National Highway 58.

Govindghat to Valley of flowers by trek.

From Govinghat to valley of flowers one cannot do in one day. One needs to go to Ghangaria first and use Ghangaria as base camp for valley of flowers and Hemkund Sahib Trek. So the trek can be divided in to two parts.

Trek from Govindghat to Ghangaria.

Govindghat to Ghangaria is 14 kilometer trek. You will gain an altitude of 4700 feet as Govindghat is at an altitude of 5500 feet where as Ghangaria is at an altitude of 10200 feet. The trek is quite steep at some places. You can hire a pony or porter for yourself. Helicopter services are also available at Govindghat. Helicopter picks up from Govindghat and drops at Helipad ground in Ghangaria. Helipad ground is 1 km before Ghangaria. It also the camping site.

Trek from Ghangaria to Valley of Flowers.

Ghangaria to Valley of Flowers is 3 km and you can explore the valley up to 9-10 km inside. Depending upon your stamina you can go in to the deeper parts of the Valley of Flowers. We recommend you to start trekking back at 2.00 pm as you need to get out of the entry gate of the valley by 5.00 pm.

How to reach valley of flowers ? Our group at Pushpawati river bed in the valley.

How to reach valley of flowers ? Our group at Pushpawati river bed in the valley.

This is an article on “How to reach valley of flowers” if you have any further questions you can contact us or leave a reply in comment section. We will be very happy to help you on your trip to Valley of Flowers.

Valley of flowers trek itinerary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *

Contact US





+91 9991242759
+91 9991142759
trekforall@gmail.com



Valley of Flowers Departures 2017

  • Sunday, June 11, 2017
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Saturday, July 01, 2017
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017
  • Saturday, July 08, 2017
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, August 05, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, August 06, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017 (Open)
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 03, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 10, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 24, 2017 (Open)

The above departures of July and August month have an extra day for Valley of flowers Click here to know why you need an extra day in the valley of flowers.

Exclusive Pictures of Valley of Flowers taken in 2015

Important Links

Share this page on facebook


Come With Us!
To Valley of Flowers