Valley of flowers in winter

Valley of flowers National Park, Uttarakhand in winter.

Valley of flowers National Park is situated in western Himalayas in Uttarakhand State of India. It is high altitude valley and its height varies from 11000 feet to 12500 feet. It is stretched over an area of 84 square kilometer. Valley of flowers in winter is snow clad and is not at all accessible by trekking.

Valley of Flowers in Winter, This picture was taken in November

Valley of Flowers in Winter, This picture was taken in November

Valley of flowers in Winter.

The Valley of Flowers is accessible from June to September only. It officially opens on 1st June and closes on 4th October every year. The Valley of Flowers is snow clad for most of the year. Snow starts falling in the month of October itself and by November the valley is full of snow and all the plants get buried under a thick layer of snow. It remains snow clad for almost another six months. By April when temperature start raising the snow starts melting slowly. Gradually the plants buried under the snow can be seen and the seed put down by them last year start germinating.

Govindghat in winter,last road for the trek to valley of flowers

Govindghat in winter,last road for the trek to valley of flowers

According to their turn they come out one by one it happens in such a disciplined manner that you can see the same variety of flowers in same week every year.

Valley of flowers in winter remains full of snow and even the base camp Ghangaria and Govindghat both are snow clad. Govindghat is at a height of 5500 feet whereas Ghangaria is at a height of 10200 feet. We see a considerable snow fall even at Govindghat so you can imagine the snow on the trek between Govindghat and Ghangaria itself. The village Ghangaria is accessible only by May 1st week and you have to cross many glaciers to reach Ghangaria village from Govindghat.

Pulna Village in winter, Pulna village is on the trek from Govindhat to Ghangaria, 3 kilometers form Govindghat

Pulna Village in winter, Pulna village is on the trek from Govindhat to Ghangaria, 3 kilometers form Govindghat

Valley of flowers in winter is not seen by anyone as it is full of snow along with at least 20 kilometers of the trek to Valley of Flowers. But still some locals have seen the Valley of Flowers full of snow in the month of November.

Best time to Visit Valley of flowers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *

Contact US





+91 9991242759
+91 9991142759
trekforall@gmail.com



Valley of Flowers Departures 2017

  • Sunday, June 11, 2017
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Saturday, July 01, 2017
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017
  • Saturday, July 08, 2017
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017
  • Saturday, August 05, 2017
  • Sunday, August 06, 2017
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017
  • Sunday, September 03, 2017
  • Sunday, September 10, 2017
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017
  • Sunday, September 24, 2017

The above departures of July and August month have an extra day for Valley of flowers Click here to know why you need an extra day in the valley of flowers.

Exclusive Pictures of Valley of Flowers taken in 2015

Important Links

Share this page on facebook


Come With Us!
To Valley of Flowers