Badrinath

Badrinath is one of the most famous pilgrim destinations for Hindus. It is situated on the bank of river Alaknanda at a height of 10200 feet above sea level in the Chamoli district of Garhwal Region in Uttarakhand State of India. It is famous not only for pilgrim but nature lovers also come here as many treks starts from here.

Badrinath is open for only 5 months in a year during the summer season only. Rest of the time it is snow clad. People from all over the world come to Badrinath.

Badrinath temple

Badrinath Temple is the main attraction in Badrinath. The story of the temple is that Shankara discovered Lord Badrinarayan in Black Stone called Saligram in Alaknanda River. He enshrined it near the hot water springs on the bank of river but in Sixteenth Century the king of Garhwal moved it to the present place. One should take bath in the hot water spring before going to the temple, the springs are also called as Tapt Kund.

Badrinath Temple at night

Badrinath Temple at night

How to Reach Badrinath:

Badrinath can be reached only by road or by chartered Helicopter from Rishikesh. Nearest rail head is Rishikesh and airport is Jolly Grant near Dehradoon. It is 325 kilometers from Haridwar and it takes almost 10-12 hours of road journey from Haridwar to Badrinath.

Places to see near Badrinath

You can visit Mana Village near Badrinath and if you have time you can also go for trek to Vasudhara Falls. Valley of Flowers can also be visited if you have enough time. You will require at least 4 days from Govindghat to valley of flowers and back. If you are going to Valley of Flowers you can also go to Hemkund Sahib. Both of these destinations are accessible by trek from Govindghat. Govindghat is 25 km from Badrinath on National Highway 58. You can also visit Auli for its meadows. You can even trek from Auli to Gorsan Peak.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *

Contact US





+91 9991242759
+91 9991142759
trekforall@gmail.com



Valley of Flowers Departures 2017

  • Sunday, June 11, 2017
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Saturday, July 01, 2017
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017
  • Saturday, July 08, 2017
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, August 05, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, August 06, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017 (Full)
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017 (Full)
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017 (Open)
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 03, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 10, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017 (Open)
  • Sunday, September 24, 2017 (Open)

The above departures of July and August month have an extra day for Valley of flowers Click here to know why you need an extra day in the valley of flowers.

Exclusive Pictures of Valley of Flowers taken in 2015

Important Links

Share this page on facebook


Come With Us!
To Valley of Flowers